I feel so horrible right now for so many different reasons.
I'm A foodie type of guy. I've loved food in all it's forms for the majority of my life. From Grandma's pot roast to Weinerschnitzel in Berlin, I've tried everything put in front of me. I treasure the rare and aristocratic tastes and I revel in the ooze and slop of things like Garbage Plates(Double Cheeseburger please, extra Frank's Red Hot on the side). But rarely do I truly regret a meal.
Sometimes if I work late and I get home after the wife and kids have eaten, I like to pretend I am a contestant on Iron Chef. But rather than have to cook several dishes based on a single ingredient, I have to make a single meal out of the random crap I find in my cupboards
Enter the basement freezer. In the name of trying to clean out the Hoth-like realm within our chest freezer, I've been pulling random items out to cook with. Today - Freezer Queen Salisbury steak dinner. I figure, how bad could it be. Cook it up, throw it on an onion roll dipped in the gravy like a French dip, throw on some sharp cheddar cheese and (with apologies to Emeril Lagasse) BAM - dinner.
As soon as the greasy, salt infested (yes, infested - the only way to properly describe it) gravy hit my tongue, I knew i was in trouble. The gravy was horrid, the cheese just added to the salt overload and the meat...the meat (if you can call it that). The ingredient label read beef, pork, soy etc but it didn't mention that it was the slaughterhouse floor sweepings from the end of a shift.
I choked it down, barely. But I vowed that in this year of improvement, there are no spots on the team for meals like that. If I am going to eat fatty, sodium laden food, at least it should taste good, or be accompanied by a toy inside a happy meal!
What meals or snacks have you regretted? Deep fried twinkies? Maple bacon doughnuts? I'd love to hear, and may e even try them!
Bon apetit!
No comments:
Post a Comment